In Dialog, you can add notes in different places depending on the purpose of the note. For example, you may want to use them for feedback on a goal, preparation for a conversation, a summary after a 1:1, or something you want to keep private.
You can add notes in the following places:
• goals
• talking points
• conversation notes
• private notes
Notes on goals
You can leave a note on an employee’s goal by clicking on the goal under Personal plans in your Dashboard, or going to their goals on their profile, and writing a comment in the note section underneath. This is useful for giving feedback, highlighting progress, or adding a compliment.
Employees can also reflect and leave notes on their own goals. Depending on the settings, they can choose who may see their note.
Good to know
Managers also often use goal reflections as input for 1:1s and evaluations.
1:1's
Go to the 1:1s tab for an employee. On this page, you will find:
• Talking points
• Conversation notes
• Private notes in the panel on the right
Talking points
Talking points are used to note down topics you want to discuss with the employee. The employee can also add their own talking points, so you can prepare the agenda for your next conversation together.
You can add a talking point by clicking + Add talking point. After that, you can choose whether to share it with the employee or keep it private.
Once created, you can:
• click the plus icon to add it as a conversation note
• click the pencil icon to edit it
• click the bin icon to delete it
When the topic has been discussed, you can tick it off using the checkbox next to it.
Conversation notes
Conversation notes are used for a short summary of your conversation with the employee. Employees can also add their own notes here.
After adding a note, it appears below the input field. You can:
• edit your own note via the three dots and Edit note
• delete your own note via the three dots and Delete note
Private notes
Private notes are meant for information you want to keep to yourself. These notes are only visible to you.
You can:
• edit a private note by clicking on it
• delete a private note using the bin icon below the note
If you want to read more about using Dialog to support conversations with employees, see ‘How can I use Dialog for conversations with my employees?’